• Brainly User
The general elections of 2014 will be the 16th Lok Sabha elections of independent India. This election will be held in every parliamentary constituency across India, which will elect members of the parliament, who will in turn form the next central government in India. The Constitutional term of 15th Lok Sabha, the current parliament, will complete on 31 May 2014.Present 15th Lok Sabha - An Overview

The current government is by the United Progressive Alliance (UPA 2), which is a grand alliance of six political parties, headed by the Indian National Congress (having 206 seats), and supported from outside by 10 more parties. The main opposition of the current 15th Lok Sabha is headed by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is a grand alliance of 11 political parties, headed by Bharatiya Janata Party (having 117 seats). Another political space is also there, which includes parties such as Left parties, All India Trinamool Congress, AIADMK, JDMajor Political Parties in the Upcoming 16th General Election 2014 - An Overview

In 2014 parliamentary election, the main contenders are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Left Parties (CPIM, CPI, FB, RSP, etc.) and many other regional parties (AIADMK, JD(U), BJD, TMC, DMK, and many more). Another regional political party, which has recently announced its plans of contesting pan India, is the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which many say is going to be the biggest spoiler or game changer in the upcoming General Elections of 2014.(U), BJD, 
1 1 1