Punjab is a state in the northwest of the Republic of India, forming part of the larger Punjab region.The state is bordered by the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh to the east, Haryana to the south and southeast, Rajasthanto the southwest, and the Pakistani province of Punjab to the west. To the north it is bounded by the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir. The state capital is located in Chandigarh, a Union Territory and also the capital of the neighbouring state of Haryana.After the partition of India in 1947, the Punjab province of British India was divided between India and Pakistan. The Indian Punjabwas divided in 1966 with the formation of the new states of Haryana and Himachal Pradesh alongside the current state of Punjab.Punjab is the only state in India with a majority Sikh population.The term Punjab comprises two words: "punj meaning five and ab meaning water, thus the land of five rivers."The Greeksreferred to Punjab as Pentapotamia, an inland delta of five converging rivers.In Avesta, the sacred text of Zoroastrians, the Punjab region is associated with the ancient hapta həndu or Sapta Sindhu, the Land of Seven Rivers.Historically, the Punjab region has been the gateway to the Indian Subcontinent for most foreign invaders.
1 4 1
mark as best plzzzzzzzzz
Same number of z
The Brainliest Answer!
Punjab is a state. It is very famous. It is the heart of India’s Sikh community. It's boundary is near pakistan. Its Capital is Chandigarh. Its Largest city is Ludhiana. It has 22 Districts. It is Established on 15 August 1947.
2 5 2
mark as best plzzzzzzzzz
mark as brainliest plzzzz