• Brainly User
In 1950 Himachal was declared a union territory, but after the State of Himachal Pradesh Act 1971,Himachal emerged as the 18th state of the Republic of India. Hima means snow in Sanskrit, and the literalmeaning of the state's name is In the lap of Himalayas.The Indian state of Himachal Pradesh has an area of 55,673 km². It shares its border with other Indian states like Jammu and Kashmir on the north, Punjab towards southwest, Haryana on  southern side, Uttarakhand on southeast and Tibet on east directions. Himachal Pradesh is situated in lower Himalayan region with numerous mountain ranges and rich natural resources.The elevation in the state varies between 450 mts to 6,500 mts above sea level. The region forms an extension from Shivalik range of mountains. There is an obvious increase in elevation as we go from north to south and east to west.The Geographical Location of Himachal Pradesh with respect to latitude is between 30' 22' 40" North to 33' 12' 40" North and it falls between 75' 45' 55" East to 79' 04' 20" East in longitudinal axis. Shimla is the capital of Himachal Pradesh. For administrative purpose, the state is divided into twelve districts and it has approximately 49 cities and towns. The state has a total population of 6.7 million out of which 3.8 million are males and the remaining 2.9 million are females as per 2001 census.The state of Himachal Pradesh is located in northern part of the country in lower Himalayas. It experiences pleasant climate throughout the year. The winter month brings enormous snow falls in the region due to its close proximity to Himalayas. The normal weather of various regions in the state varies as per altitude levels. The ideal time to explore the state is from September to March.
The Eastern Ghats, or Pūrva Ghaṭ, also known as Mahendra Pravata are a discontinuous range of mountains along India's eastern coast. The Eastern Ghats run from West Bengal state in the north, through Odisha and Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south passing some parts of Karnataka. They are eroded and cut through by the four major rivers of peninsular India, known as the Godavari, Mahanadi, Krishna, and Kaveri. The mountain ranges run parallel to the Bay of Bengal. The Deccan Plateau lies to the west of the range, between the Eastern Ghats and Western Ghats. The coastal plains, including the Coromandel Coast region, lie between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal. The Eastern Ghats are not as high as the Western Ghats.