The Brainliest Answer!
The first, second, and third Anglo-Maratha wars were fought between the army of the british east india company, which after 1757 was de facto ruler of Bengal and of other provinces in North East India, and the Maratha Empire, or confederacy, in the south of India. The Mughal empire was already effectively under British control but its power had never extended far into the South, where the French—defeated in the North at the battle of Plasseyf, (1757)—still vied with the British for dominance. The wars started in 1777 and ended with British victory in 1818. This left the British in control, directly or indirectly via treaties with Princely states, of a vast proportion of India, making India the jewel in the crown of the BRitish Empire...hope u get it 
2 5 2