The Indian Mainland includes two groups of islands, i.e. Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep Islands. The former is situated in the Bay of Bengal and the latter is found in the Arabian Sea. Andaman & Nicobar islands are a group of 572 islands with its capital city as Port Blair whereas Lakshadweep islands is a group of 36 islands with its capital as Kavaratti. Other than these two main groups India has a large number of islands
There are two island groups in India. Lakshwadeep in the west and Andaman and Nicobar in the east.
Lakshwadeep is a small group of coral islands lying in the Arabian sea. It is only 32 km big. It's administrative headquaarters is Kavaratti. It is rich in flora and fauna. There is even a sanctuary at Pitti island there.
Andaman and Nicobar islands lie in the bay of bengal. Andaman is in the north and Nicobar is in the south. There are scattered, more numerous and bigger. They are veryrich in wildlife.