The first stage of life that the poem describes is
infancy, where a sobbing baby must be nursed
all the time. The next stage of life is that of
schoolboy, who unwillingly attends school and
lacks discipline. The schoolboy then grows into
the lover, who is preoccupied with writing poetry
to his love.
As he grows older, though, the lover becomes
more mature and joins the army, becoming the
soldier. He is now quick to fight, prone to
jealousy and very ambitious, seeking recognition
and reputation. Through more aging, though, the
soldier turns into the judge. This healthy,
wizened man advises other people and has
earned his social status.
Soon, though, the wizened man grows old and
becomes the pantaloon. He looks like a shell of
his formal self, and his voice begins to weaken,
resembling the sound of a child's. In the final,
seventh stage of life the man is crippled with
age. With his senses so deadened, he is utterly
helpless and much like that of an infant, relating
to the very beginning of life. In this way,
Shakespeare describes life in these seven
stages, purposely book ending life with a similar
characteristic of helplessness found after birth
and before death.
In this we learned that what characteristics would you associate with each stage     →in this poem life is compared with a play.just as in a play ,a man acts many parts, so also in life ,a man plays many roles.