The Himalayas are a mountain range in Asia, the highest in the world.They are north within Pakistan and Jammu and Kashmir, into the Republic of India's Himachal Pradesh and Uttaranchal states, State of Nepal, and the Kingdoms of Sikkim, and Bhutan; then into the south of China's Tibetan Autonomous Region. The 15 highest mountains in the world are in the Himalayas. The main ones are the Mount Everest, K2, Annapurna, and Nanga Parbat. Mount Everest is the highest mountain on the face of the Earth. Mount Everest is 8,849 meters. There are over 100 mountains and the base is 20,643 ft above sea level. Of the fifteen highest mountain peaks in the World, nine of them are contained within the Nepal Himalayas. The word "Himalaya" means House of Snow in Sanskrit, an old Indian language. The Himalayas are so high that they kept the Indian and Chinese people separate from each other most of the time. In fact, India is a peninsula that is cut off from the rest of Asia by the mountains. India is often called a sub-continent because it has water on three sides and mountains on the fourth. North of the Himalayas is the Tibetan Plateau. It is called “the roof of the world”. However, the Tibetan Plateau is very dry because the plateau and the mountains act as a gigantic rain shadow. Similar to that, it has greatly influenced the climate of the Indian subcontinent. Not only does it block the extremely cold winter winds blowing from Central Asia from entering Subcontinent, it also forces the Bay of Bengal Monsoon branch to shed its moisture along NE and Northern Indian States, Bhutan, Nepal and Bangladesh.

Hope this helps:)
1 5 1