The 4 phases of mitosis are prophase,metaphase,anaphase and telophase... PROPHASE :chromosomes split lengthwise to form chromatids connected by centromeres..centrosome,containing rod-like centroides,divide and form ends of spindle (probably animal cells only) METAPHASE:chromosomes move to spindle equator ,centrosomes attached to spindle fibres.centrometers split to separating the chromatids.. ANAPHASE:spindle fibres attached to centrometers contract,pulling chromatids, towards poles.. TELOPHASE :chromatids elongate,become invisible,(replication at this stage to become chromosomes)nucleus divides into two and division of cytoplasm starts.... Hope it helps...
Mitosis is a part of the cell cycle in which chromosomes in a cell nucleus are separated into two identical sets of chromosomes, and each set ends up in its own nucleus.The process of mitosis is divided into stages corresponding to the completion of one set of activities and the start of the next. These stages are prophase, , metaphase, anaphase, and telophase.