On January 26, 1950, the Constitution of India, drafted by Dr BR Ambedkar, came into force and replaced the Government of India Act, 1935, as the governing document of the country, completing the transition towards becoming a sovereign democratic republicThe Constitution was passed by the Constituent Assembly of India on 26 November 1949 but was adopted on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the country's transition toward becoming an independent republic India, celebrated 66th republic day on 26th January, 2015 with great pride and honor and invited 44th president of United States, Barack Obama as a chief guest for the prestigious republic day parade.