After 1858, India became officially a British colony as British crown took control of India from East India Company. The British crown put a Secretary of State for India in change of India. Indian Council who had only advisory powers aided him. India was divided into three administrative zones (Bengal, Madras and Bombay). A number of administrative and legal changes were introduced. In1861 Indian Councils Act, High Courts Act and Penal code were passed. British continued to expand the railways and telegraphic network and in 1868 new Ambala – Delhi railway line was started.
3 1 3
this Bengal under the control of British means what