What is the difference between systolic and diastolic phases of the cardiac cycle?

The cardiac cycle refers to a complete heartbeat from its generation to the beginning of the next beat, and so includes the diastole the systole and the intervening pause. The frequency of the cardiac cycle is described by the heart rate, which is typically expressed as beats per minute. Each beat of the heart involves five major stages. The first two stages, often considered together as the "ventricular filling" stage, involve the movement of blood from the atria into the ventricles. The next t


  • Brainly User
Here is the image explaining the difrence

This Is a Certified Answer

Certified answers contain reliable, trustworthy information vouched for by a hand-picked team of experts. Brainly has millions of high quality answers, all of them carefully moderated by our most trusted community members, but certified answers are the finest of the finest.
Systolic Phase:
1)During a heartbeat there is contraction of ATRIA(cardiac muscles).This contraction phase is called systolic Phase.
2)The successive stages of systolic phase are:
(i)Atrial systole
(ii)Beginning of Ventricular systole
(iii)Complete Ventricular Systole 
3)First Heart sound "LUBB" is observed in the beginning of Ventricular systolic phase.

Diastolic Phase:
1)During a heartbeat when there is a relaxation of ATRIA(cardiac muscles).This phase is called diastolic phase.
2)The stages of Diastolic phase are:
(i)Beginning of Ventricular Diastole
(ii)Complete Ventricular Diastole.
3)The second heart sound "DUP" is observed in the beginning of Ventricular Diastolic phase.