(i) Regions included in central nervous system are the brain and the spinal cord. The brain is further divided into three parts − forebrain, midbrain, and hindbrain. (ii) Three of the functions of the brain are: Forebrain controls intelligence, learning, memory, thinking, speech, etc. Midbrain is associated with the sense of sight and hearing. Hindbrain controls all involuntary actions such as breathing, peristalsis, etc.