The bharthya janatha party(bjp)was launched as an independent political in feb 1980,after the split of the jantha party on theĀ  r.s.s issue.most of the east while jana sanghamember along with a few other,left the jantha party to form the b.j.p. thus the b.j.p. is a reincarnation of the jana sangha,the militant hindu nationalist party founded in 1951 by shyama prasad mukherjee.
The BJP's origins lie in the Bharatiya Jana Sangh, formed in 1951 by Syama Prasad Mookerjee. After the State of Emergency in 1977, the Jana Sangh merged with several other parties to form the Janata Party; it defeated the incumbent Congress party in the 1977 general election. After three years in power, the Janata party dissolved in 1980 with the members of the erstwhile Jana Sangh reconvening to form the BJP. Although initially unsuccessful, winning only two seats in the 1984 general election, it grew in strength on the back of the Ram Janmabhoomi movement. Following victories in several state elections and better performances in national elections, the BJP became the largest party in the parliament in 1996; however, it lacked a majority in the lower house of Parliament, and its government lasted only 13 days.