From its foundation on 28 December 1885 until the time of independence of India on 15 August 1947 , the Indian national congress was the largest and most prominent Indian public organization , and central and defining influence of the Indian Independence movement 
The Indian National Congress abbr. INC, also commonly called the Congress is one of the two major contemporary political parties in India, the other being the Bharatiya Janata Party. It is one of the largest and oldest democratically-operating political parties in the world. Founded by freedom fighter activists in 1885, it dominated politics nationally for most of the period from 1947–1989. There have been seven Congress Prime Ministers, the first being Jawaharlal Nehru, serving from 1947–1964 and the most recent being Manmohan Singh, serving from 2004 to 2014. The party'smodern liberal platform is largely considered to be on the centre-left of theIndian political spectrum.