ICC International cricket council
Icc-cricket.comTheInternational Cricket Council(ICC) is the internationalgoverning bodyofcricket. It was founded as theImperial Cricket Conferencein 1909 by representatives fromEngland, Australia and South Africa, renamed theInternational Cricket Conferencein 1965, and took up its current name in 1989.The ICC has 106 members: 10Full Membersthat playTest matches, 38Associate Members,[4]and 57Affiliate Members.[5]The ICC is responsible for the organisation and governance of cricket's major international tournaments, most notably theCricket World Cup. It also appoints theumpiresandrefereesthat officiate at all sanctioned Test matches,One Day InternationalandTwenty20 Internationals. It promulgates theICC Codeof Conduct, which sets professional standards of discipline for international cricket,[6]and also co-ordinates action against corruption andmatch-fixingthroughitsAnti-Corruption and Security Unit(ACSU). The ICC does not control bilateral fixtures between member countries (which include allTest matches), it does not govern domestic cricket in member countries, and it does not make thelaws of the game, which remain under the control of theMarylebone Cricket Club.TheChairmanheads the board of directors and on 26 June 2014,N. Srinivasan, the former president ofBCCI, was announced as the first chairman of the council.[7]The role of ICC president has become a largely honorary position since the establishment of the chairman role and other changes were made to the ICC constitution in 2014. It has been claimed that the 2014 changes have handed control to the so-called 'Big Three' nations of England, India and Australia.[8]The current ICC president isZaheer Abbas,[3]who was appointed in June 2015 following the resignation ofMustafa Kamalin April 2015. Kamal, the former president of theBangladesh Cricket Board, resigned shortly after the2015 World Cup, claiming the organisation operated both unconstitutionally and unlawfully. The current CEO isDavid Richardson, who succeededHaroon Lorgat.[9]