1 the great Himalayas
2 northern plains
3 peninsular plateau
4 coastal plains
5 islands
6 oceans
7 desert

The following are the main physiographic divisions of India:

i) The Himalayan Mountains

ii) The Northern Plains

iii) The Peninsular Plateau

iv) The Indian Desert

v) The Coastal Plains

vi) The Islands


The Himalayans Mountain Ranges are young fold mountains that extend across the northern borders of India. The mountains run in an east-west direction, forming an arc of about 2400 km. Their width varies from 150 km in Arunachal Pradesh to 400 km in Kashmir. The mountains consist of three parallel ranges and several valleys between them. The northern most ranges are the loftiest with an average height of more than 6000 metres and are known as Himadri. To the south of Himadri lie the lesser Himalayas or the Himachal. Their altitude varies from 3700 to 4500 metres. The Shiwaliks are the southern most range of the Himalayas with an altitude of 900 to 1100 metres.