During the late 18th Century, the French society and institutions were know as the Old Regime. The society was divided into three estates, 1. The Clergy (Church), 2. Nobles and 3. The third estate. The majority of the population was The Third Estate. The Clergy and The Nobles had special privileges since birth and did not have to pay taxes and The Third Estate were the tax payers. They payed direct taxes like Tithes and indirect taxes like Taillies.