Plate tectonics theory is a theory that states that the outer layer of the earth which is the lithosphere, is divided into "plates" that move across the earth's surface. This theory also states that there are eight major plates and a huge number of minor plates in the earth's lithosphere, which are constantly shifting at about 50-100 mm per year.
Hope it helps...
Pls mark as brainliest