Structure of GovernmentTHE STRUCTURE OF GOVERNMENTThe Executive
The Judiciary
The Legislature

The Executive
The executive consists of the President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet ministers at national level, and the Premier and Members of the Executive Councils (MECs) at provincial level. It also includes government departments and civil servants.
The responsibility of the Executive is to run the country and to make policy in the best interests of its citizens and in terms of the Constitution. They are empowered to implement legislation, develop and implement policy, direct and co-ordinate the work of the government departments, prepare and initiate legislation and perform other functions as called for by the Constitution or legislation.The Executives cannot pass laws, however, but may propose to the Legislature new laws and changes to existing laws.
The Judiciary
Judicial authority is vested in the courts, which are independent and subject to the laws of the Constitution. The courts are:the Constitutional Courtthe Supreme Court of Appealthe High Courtsthe Magistrates Courts andvarious other Courts.The LegislatureThe term "legislature" means a body of elected representatives that makes laws. The prime function of legislatures, therefore, is to formulate, debate and pass legislation which is needed for the government and the country to function. The legislature also provides a forum in which the public can participate in issues and watch over the executive arm of government.In South Africa the national legislature is Parliament and each of the nine provinces also has a legislature. These ten legislatures function autonomously and co-operatively within the framework provided by the Constitution, particularly section 3 which outlines the obligations of co-operative governance.