The Indian Independence Act 1947 was  an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom that India into the two new independent dominions of India and Pakistan.  Pakistan then came into being on August 14, and India on August 15.The legislation was formulated by the government of Prime Minister Attlee and the Governor General of India Lord Mountbatten, after representatives of the Indian National Congress the Muslim Leagueand the Sikh community came to an agreement with the Viceroy of India, Lord Mountbatten on what has come to be known as the 3 June Plan or Mountbatten Plan.