Meiosis is a complex cell division process in which the diploid number of chromosome is reduced to haploid number.
It takes place in the eukaryotic diploid germ cells of the sex organs of plants and animals. 
The process of meiosis consists of two divisions of a diploid cell producing four haploid daughter cells.
Meiotic division I:
A) Prophase- I
It has five stages:
B)Metaphase- I
C)Anaphase- I
D)Telophase- I
E)Cytokinesis- I

Meiotic division II
A) Prophase- II
B) Metaphase- II
C) Anaphase- II
D) Telophase- II
E) Cytokinesis- II

1 5 1
Steps of meiosis
1)G1 phase: The period prior to the synthesis of DNA. In this phase, the cell increases in mass in preparation for cell division.
2)S phase: The period during which DNA is synthesized. 
3)G2 phase: The period after DNA synthesis has occurred but prior to the start of prophase. The cell synthesizes proteins and continues to increase in size.
Chromosomes condense and attach to the nuclear envelope.
Synapsis occurs and a tetrad is formed. Each tetrad is composed of four chromatids.Chromosomes thicken and detach from the nuclear envelope.
The centrioles migrate away from one another and both the nuclear envelope and nucleoli break down.
5)Metaphase I:Tetrads align at the metaphase plate.The centromeres of homologous chromosomes are oriented toward the opposite cell poles.
naphase I:Chromosomes move to the opposite cell poles.Microtubules such as the kinetochore fibers interact to pull the chromosomes to the cell poles.Sister chromatids remain together after the homologous chromosomes move to opposite poles.
7)Telophase I:The spindle fibers continue to move the homologous chromosomes to the poles.Once movement is complete, each pole has a haploid number of chromosomes.At the end of telophase I and cytokinesis, two daughter cells are produced, each with one half the number of chromosomes of the original parent cell.