Traditionally, the flowering plants have been divided into two major groups, or classes,: the Dicots (Magnoliopsida) and the Monocots (Liliopsida). Many people take this separation into two classes for granted, because it is "plainly obvious", but botanists have not always recognized these as the two fundamental groups of angiosperms. Although Theophrastus (circa 370 BC) is credited with first recognizing differences between the two groups, classification of plants was based upon overall growth form -- trees, herbs, vines -- until the 1600s.

This Is a Certified Answer

Certified answers contain reliable, trustworthy information vouched for by a hand-picked team of experts. Brainly has millions of high quality answers, all of them carefully moderated by our most trusted community members, but certified answers are the finest of the finest.
The major character which distinguishes Monocots from Dicots is as follows:
-Monocots posses only a single cotyledon.c(Eg: Zea mays)
-Dicots posses two cotyledons. (Eg: Pisum sativum)

1 5 1