Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru presented the National Flag of India to the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947. Our National Flag is rectangular in shape and is made from cotton, khadi, wool or silk cloth. The ratio of the width of the flag to its length is always 2:3. The National Flag has three equal horizontal stripes of different colours. There is saffron (kesari) at the top, white in the middle and green at the bottom. This is why it is also called the tricolour.
Every free nation of the world has its own flag. It is a symbol of a free country. The National Flag of India was designed by Pingali Venkayyaand and adopted in its present form during the meeting of Constituent Assembly held on the 22 July 1947, a few days before India's independence from the British on 15 August, 1947. It served as the national flag of the Dominion of India between 15 August 1947 and 26 January 1950 and that of the Republic of India thereafter. In India, the term "tricolour" refers to the Indian national flag.