• Brainly User

This Is a Certified Answer

Certified answers contain reliable, trustworthy information vouched for by a hand-picked team of experts. Brainly has millions of high quality answers, all of them carefully moderated by our most trusted community members, but certified answers are the finest of the finest.

Color is simply light of different wavelengths and frequencies and light is just one form of energy that we can actually see that is made up from photons.

We are all surrounded by electromagnetic waves of energy of which colour is just a small part.

Each colour has its own properties and unique wavelength and frequency.

more about... Colour properties

The visible spectrum of colour as we see it, consists of seven main colours:

The retinas in our eyes though have three types of colour receptors in the form of cones. We can actually only detect three of these visible colours - red - blue and green. These colours are called additive primaries. It is these three colours that are mixed in our brain to create all of the other colours we see... how clever we are!

The wavelength and frequency of light we see, also influences the colour we see. The seven colours of the spectrum all have varying wavelengths and frequencies. Red is at the lower end of the spectrum and has a higher wavelength but lower frequency to that of Violet at the top end of the spectrum which has a lower wavelength and higher frequency.

20 4 20
Red          620- 750 nm and frequency is 400-484THz
blue        450-495 nm and frequency is 606-668 THz
 green    495-570nm and frequency is  526-606 THz
17 4 17