India has 2 main island groups, namely Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar islands 
Their main features are:
 Lakshadweep islands:-
i. This group of islands is composed of small coral islands.
ii. Earlier they were known as Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindive. In 1973 these were named as Lakshadweep.
iii. It covers a small area of 32 sq km. Kavaratti island is the administrative headquarters of Lakshadweep.
iv. This island group has great diversity of flora and fauna. The Pitli island, which is uninhabited, has a bird sanctuary.
Andaman and Nicobar islands:-
i. They are bigger in size and are more numerous and scattered. The entire group of islands is divided into two broad categories – The Andaman in the north and the Nicobar in the south. 
ii. It is believed that these islands are an elevated portion of submarine mountains.
iii. These island groups are of great strategic importance for the country.
iv. There is great diversity of flora and fauna in this group of islands too. These island  lie close to the equator and experience equatorial climate and have thick forest cover.
7 3 7