This Is a Certified Answer

Certified answers contain reliable, trustworthy information vouched for by a hand-picked team of experts. Brainly has millions of high quality answers, all of them carefully moderated by our most trusted community members, but certified answers are the finest of the finest.
1. The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sportsgovernment of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.
2. Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of 
 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
The Government has recently revised the scheme for the Arjun Award.As per the revised guidelines, to be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous three years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
Over the years the scope of the award has been expanded and a large number of sports persons who belonged to the pre-Arjun Award era were also included in the list. Further, the number of disciplines for which the award is given was increased to include indigenous games and the physically  handicapped category.
From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:  
Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket
Indigenous Games
Sports for the Physically Challenged
In mid-August 2011, 19 athletes were announced as Arjuna recipients; the high number due to the inclusion of both the 2010 Commonwealth Games and 2010 Asian Games in the Arjuna qualifying year
In 2012, 25 sportspersons were conferred with the Arjuna awards.
Basketball has had 16 Arjuna Awardees thus far.
9. Some Arjuna awardees in archery:
Krishna Das.Shyam Lal,Limba Ram, etc.
10. Some Arjuna Awadees in badminton:
Nandu Natekar,Meena Shah,Suresh Goel,etc.

1 5 1