The ruler of Delhi , who ruled from 1206 - 90, Mamulk Turks . They were followed by the khiljis ,tughals sayyids and lodis, who ruled northera India from Delhi till 1526. all these are called sultans A sultan was supposed to rule over a territory on behalf of kalifha or caliph , who was to be spiritual temporal head of the Muslim .  In 1526 the sultan were replaced by Mughals , who intially ruled from agra and later from Delhi till 1707 . Thereafter , the mughals ruled nominally till 1857 when the dynasty ended . the mughal did not ask for any investiture but continued to spend presents to the khalifas . I HOPE  U WILL BE SATISFIED WITH THE ANSWER