.The SecretariatThe Secretariat is made up of an international staff working at UN Headquarters in New York, as well as UN offices in Geneva, Vienna, Nairobi and other locations. It consists of departments and offices with a total staff of around 16,000, drawn from some 175 countries. Including civil staff in peacekeeping missions the total number comprises approximately 30,000 staff. Staff members carry out the substantive and administrative work of the United Nations as directed by the General Assembly, the Security Council and the other organs.The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary-General. He is appointed by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council for a five-year term. As the chief administrative officer of the Organization, the Secretary-General directs its work. He is also responsible for implementing decisions taken by the various organs of the United Nations.The Secretary-General may bring to the attention of the Security Council any matter which, in his opinion, may threaten international peace and security. He may use his “good offices” to prevent conflicts or promote peaceful settlement of disputes between countries. The Secretary-General may also act on his own initiative to deal with humanitarian or other problems of special importance.There have been only eight Secretaries-General since the founding of the UN:
Trygve Lie (Norway), 1946-1952Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden), 1953-1961U Thant (Burma, now Myanmar), 1961-1971Kurt Waldheim (Austria), 1972-1981Javier Pérez de Cuéllar (Peru), 1982-1991Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt), 1992-1996Kofi Annan (Ghana), 1997-2006Ban Ki-moon (Republic of Korea), since 2007.
2 5 2